“cooking”

CHICKEN TACO SALADS

Ingredients:

  • frozen cooked chicken, cubed, thawed
  • taco seasoning
  • tortilla chips
  • lettuce
  • tomato
  • beans
  • shredded cheese

Directions:

  • Dump chicken into pan. Add taco seasoning. (I used about a table spoon for 2 chicken breasts, cooked, then cubed.) Cook on medium heat until chicken is warmed though.
  • At this point, do whatever you want… however, we like tortilla chips in a bowl, topped with shredded lettuce, tomato (or salsa), beans (refried pinto OR black), and shredded cheese. And quite a bit of hot sauce.

This was a great quick meal to throw together because I already had chicken cooked, just needing to be thawed.

And last night was a great night for an even simpler meal than usual. A repairman came to the house to fix our whiny dryer. David-the-dryer-repairman told me that he’s ordering a part to fix it… it will take 4-5 days and cost me about $75. I felt way too adult-like in this moment because of how excited I became (I may have shed a tear) that my dryer will be fixed in the next week.

It probably won’t end up costing me any less than it would have if we’d have just bought a new used one, however, we already own this one and I HATE our society’s disposable mentality. I wish I could say that it was my idea originally to have this one fixed, but it was actually at the insistence of a friend. And I’m so glad that’s what we’re doing.

Leave a Reply

