new school year, same apathy toward blogging

Since I last visited my own blog site, I’ve moved to another state and started teaching 9th grade for the 3rd year in a row. A whole bunch has happened that I’m SURE is blog-worthy.

I occasionally contract these grandiose ideas about how often I’m going to blog. (I call it “contracting grandiose ideas” because sometimes that’s how it feels- I NEED to be blogging, it’s that important…)

Then life gets in the way, the feeling doesn’t just get put on the back burner; it’s taken off the stove completely. When I go back and read what I’ve posted in the past, I get that fire in me again, but it eventually dies too.

I may as well post something worthwhile and tell you what I’m reading…

I just finished The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson. It was chilling in most places and beautiful in some others.

Image result

Now, I’m reading Finding Manana by Mirta Ojito because it was on the shelf in my classroom and I’d never read it. It’s a memoir of a Cuban refugee. I really like it so far.

Image result

I’m also reading The Daylight Marriage by Heidi Pitlor because whatshouldireadnext.com told me I should. Oh, how I love that website!

Image result

I think my next post will be a tribute to my artistic students’ awesome work. They hand me such beautiful pieces, there’s no reason not to share them with y’all.

‘Til then! 🙂

Leave a Reply

